A A A print this page

Beta Beta Beta Honorary

Kappa Pi Chapter, Millsaps College


Beta Beta Beta, established at Millsaps in 1975, is a national honor society for students in the biological sciences. Its purposes are to stimulate sound scholarship, to promote the dissemination of scientific truth, and to encourage investigation of the life sciences.

To be tapped as a full member, students must have completed at least three biology classes with a grade of B or better in each. Only an interest in biology is necessary to be an associate member!

Email Kandice Bailey if you are interested in being tapped into the TriBeta honorary. Be sure to include your box number and whether you want to be tapped as a full or associate member.

25th Annual Millsaps Student Science Research Symposium 

All of the students who participated in the 25th Annual Millsaps Student Science Research Symposium are to be commended for their excellent presentations.

Special recognition goes to the following students:
First Place for an oral presentation:
Courtney Mullins
(Department of Chemistry/Biochemistry) for "DNA Cleaving Efficiency of Bifunctional Nitrogen Onium Salts"
Second Place for an oral presentation:
Tung Hoang
(Department of Mathematics) for "Some Results On Path Localities of Completed Bipartite Graphs"
Best poster:
The judges could not decide on one winner for the poster award so we have two best posters:

Amit Bajaj (Department of Chemistry/Biochemistry) for "Comparison of Substituent Effects in the Acetonitrile Oxidation of Aromatic Thiols"

Gurjit Kaur (Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of Mississippi Medical Center) for "Enhanced Serotonin Mediated Cartoid Vessel Constriction from the Fawn Hooded Hypertensive Rat"
Beta Beta Beta, the Biology Honorary, would also like to thank our judges:
Dr. Beth Hussa (Department of Biology) and Dr. Craig Barnett (Department of Biology).
Thank you again to all of our participants for making this such a fantastic (and well-attended!) symposium.  We all look forward to seeing more great research from you next year!

Beta Beta Beta's 2014-15 Officers:

Neha Patel, Muzamil Khawaja and Aaron Schwartz demonstrating
physical and chemical changes with students at Brown Elementary.