Slide background

2016 Honor Society Inductees

by Web on May 9, 2016

Phi Beta Kappa

Membership in Phi Beta Kappa is considered a great honor and synonymous with excellence in liberal arts. 

Millsaps College was the first college or university in the state of Mississippi to be granted a Phi Beta Kappa Chapter. The Alpha of Mississippi chapter was installed at Millsaps College on March 4, 1989, and since that time hundreds of Millsaps students have been initiated by the chapter.

Each spring semester the faculty and staff who are members of the Alpha of Mississippi Chapter meet to elect new members. According to the constitution of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, “the qualifications for membership...are high scholarship in the arts and sciences and good character.” 

The bylaws of the Millsaps College Chapter stipulate that, to be considered for election, a student must be a senior in good standing who will earn a B.A. or B.S. degree with a liberal arts major and of good character. Through his or her academic record, a student must show evidence of proficiency in mathematics at the level of Survey of Calculus (MATH 1210) or above, evidence of proficiency in a foreign language at the intermediate level (2000) or above and a cumulative grade point average of 3.7 or higher.

No more than 10 percent of graduating liberal arts majors may be elected to Phi Beta Kappa in any year.

New initiates in 2016 are:

Anna Brahce 
Lucas Carver 
Kevin Cole
Hunter Hidalgo 
Gurjit Kaur 
Daniel Kees 
Jace King 
Katie Lane Kirkland 
Sophie Lipman 
Hannah Saulters 
Ericka Wheeler

Beta Gamma Sigma

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.

New members inducted in 2016 are:


Charles Davis Bourne
Joseph Hunter Coleman
Taylor Corbett Hayes
Jack Christopher Houtz
John Virgil McCann
Emerald  Jaye Norton
Nicholas Rolf Christian Roth
Marielle Bianca Suarez


Chaille Elizabeth Clements
Samuel Sterling Ken Doucet
Laura Claire Kebert
Alex Kaitlin Kenny
Robert R. Mozingo III
William Alexander Oakley
Spencer Bruce Savage

Omicron Delta Kappa

Omicron Delta Kappa is a 100-year old national leadership honor society that recognizes not only academic achievement but also campus leadership across the five areas of scholarship; athletics; campus and community services, social or religious activities and campus government; journalism, speech, and the mass media; and creative and performing arts.

Newly inducted members are:

Lizhuo Ai
Anna Lexus Andrews
William Allen Brewer
Joseph Hunter Coleman
Cadi Breanna Nicole Duncan
Sarah Katherine Hawthorne
Madeline Marcantel Iles
Mary Frances Ivey
Daniel Lamar Furnace Kees
Katie Lane Kirkland
Corissa Erin Lambert
Cali Angelea Longo
John-Jason Brooks Marion
Alexandra Catherine Morphew
Kenneth Laurence Newburger
Hirni Yatin Patel
Callie Luran Rush
Zachary Oren Smith
Marielle Bianca Suarez
Ericka Maxine Wheeler
Taylor Leigh Winslow
Anthony Joseph Vernaci III
Carlos Austin Zamarripa

Sigma-Alpha-Alpha Honor Society for Athletics

Sigma-Alpha-Alpha recognizes graduating student-athletes who have a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or better, have achieved either first or second team honors during their careers, and have participated in athletics during their senior year, unless academics or injury prevented their involvement.

Newly inducted members are:

Anna Lexus Andrews
Lukas Elmhammar
Sarah Katherine Hawthorne
Ryan James Henry
Jack Christopher Houtz,
Nico Roth
Lindy Rebecca Robichaux