A A A print this page

Millsaps Holds 120th Commencement Ceremony

May 10, 2014


See video and photo information at the bottom of this page

A total of 181 undergraduates and an additional 50 graduate students received degrees from Millsaps College on Saturday, May 10 during a commencement ceremony at Christ United Methodist Church. The ceremony marked the college’s 120th commencement.

In keeping with a focus on student excellence, Priya Patel of Sunrise, Florida, recipient of the Millsaps College Founders' Medal, delivered the commencement address. The medal is awarded to the graduating senior with the highest grade point average and an excellent on comprehensive examinations. Click here to read the transcript (PDF).

Anna Claire Loflin Gary of Hattiesburg was recognized as the recipient of the Frank and Rachel Anne Laney Award for her award-winning essay that reflected upon the value of a Millsaps liberal arts education. Click here to read the transcript (PDF).

Victor Cobb of Jackson, who was named the Outstanding M.B.A. graduate, gave the Else School of Management graduate address. Click here to read the transcript (PDF). Margaret Eggers of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was recognized as the Outstanding Master of Accountancy graduate.

The college conferred honorary degrees on three individuals for their accomplishments and service to their communities. Honorary degree recipients were:

  • Roger Mudd of McLean, Virginia, who received a Doctor of Humane Letters. Mudd was an award-winning newspaper and television reporter for more than 50 years, beginning with The News Leader in Richmond, Virginia, before moving on to a distinguished career with CBS News, NBC News, The MacNeil/Lehrer Newshour on PBS, and The History Channel.
  • The Rev. Dr. Lovett H. Weems Jr. of Washington, D.C., who received a Doctor of Divinity. A Millsaps graduate, Weems is distinguished professor of church leadership and director of the Lewis Center for Church Leadership at Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington, D.C.
  • Elise Varner Winter of Jackson, who received a Doctor of Public Service. Winter has led various advisory boards concerned with affordable housing, was instrumental in establishing the Jackson chapter of Habitat for Humanity, and later served on the Board of Habitat for Humanity International.

Lily Womble of Homewood, Alabama was named the recipient of the Don Fortenberry Award, which recognizes the graduating senior who has demonstrated the most notable, meritorious, diligent, and devoted service to the college with no expectation of recognition, reward or public remembrance.

Wolfgang H. Kramer of Jackson, associate professor of chemistry, received the Distinguished Professor Award.





Each graduate was photographed as he or she receives the diploma by the staff of Professional Images Photography. No appointment is necessary. Free proofs and an order form will be mailed to you from Professional Images. The Alumni Relations Office is not directly responsible for photographs. The Alumni Office provides labels to the photographer with the graduate's address. If you have questions about your photos, e-mail proimages78@yahoo.com or call 601-540-7634. Please allow 4-6 weeks for delivery.


The Millsaps Office of Communications offers DVDs of this year's Commencement ceremonies at cost to the friends and relatives of our graduates. DVDs are $20 each. There is no limit to the number ordered. Send a check for $20 for each DVD you are purchasing by July 1 to the following address. Please allow 4-6 weeks for delivery.

Office of Communications
Millsaps College
1701 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39210-0001