Slide background

Forum to Examine Pulitzer-winning Journalism & Social Change in Mississippi

by Web on March 22, 2016

The Elise and William Winter Speaker Series at Millsaps College, in partnership with the Mississippi Humanities Council and the Overby Center for Southern Journalism and Politics at the University of Mississippi, is presenting the program “Journalism and Social Change” as part of the national celebration of the centennial of the Pulitzer Prizes. This panel discussion will focus on the efforts of national journalists to cover the civil rights movement in Mississippi and the crusading reporting in the Jackson Clarion-Ledger about education reform that won the newspaper a Pulitzer Prize in 1983. Panelists will include Hank Klibanoff, winner of the 2007 Pulitzer Prize for History for his book The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation; Fred Anklam, a former reporter for the Jackson Clarion-Ledger; Dr. Leslie McLemore, former director of the Fannie Lou Hamer Institute; and Charles Overby, who was editor of the Jackson Clarion-Ledger at the time of its Pulitzer Prize.

The forum will be held on Friday, April 8, at 12:00 p.m. in Room 215 of the Gertrude C. Ford Academic Complex.

This program is the final in a series entitled, “The Pulitzer Prize and Mississippi Journalism,” presented by the Mississippi Humanities Council in partnership with the Overby Center. Previous sessions took place earlier this year in Long Beach and Oxford and explored Pulitzer-winning coverage of natural disasters in Mississippi and the three Mississippi editors who won Pulitzers for editorial writing during the civil rights era.

This series is being funded by a grant from the Pulitzer Prize Board to support public programs commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Prizes in 2016. To mark this centennial, the Pulitzer Board announced the Campfires Initiative, which aims to ignite broad engagement with the journalistic, literary, and artistic values the Prizes represent. Support comes from grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Ford Foundation, Carnegie Corporation of New York, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, and the Pulitzer Prize Board.