A A A print this page

Millsaps Greeks Honored with Top Awards, National Recognition

July 15, 2013


Chelsey Overstreet was honored with a 2013 Sarah Ida Shaw Award.

Many of the sororities and fraternities at Millsaps College and some of their members have been honored with top awards from their national organizations.

"To have sorority chapters and fraternity chapters on a campus the size of Millsaps earn national recognition is exceptional," said Megan James, director of fraternity and sorority life and First Year Experience. "Sororities and fraternities spend a significant amount of time and energy raising money for philanthropies, and many of their members are leaders on campus."

The Gamma Zeta chapter of Delta Delta Delta recently earned the Three Star Award, the highest collegiate award given by its national organization. The chapter was one of two chapters to receive the award that honors continued excellence in chapter organization and programming, campus participation and recognition and the intangibles of unity and sisterhood.

Chelsey Overstreet, B. A. 2013, who served as vice president and then president of the Gamma Zeta chapter, was among four recipients nationwide of the Sarah Ida Shaw Award. Named in honor of Delta Delta Delta's founder, the Sarah Ida Shaw Award honors top collegiate members for their accomplishments and diversity in campus activities.

The Mu chapter of Kappa Delta was recently named a Merit Chapter, placing it among the top 10 percent of Kappa Delta chapters in the nation. The Chapter Advisory Board for Mu chapter was named a Chapter Advisory Board of Excellence.

Kappa Delta members Carly Boudreaux and Alexis Guice (both class of 2014) , are recipients of KD scholarships given by its national organization. Guice is receiving the Founders Scholarship, which is the top KD scholarship.

The Mu chapter of Kappa Delta and the Epsilon chapter of Phi Mu will celebrate their centennials in September 2014.

Meg Huntington, B.B.A. 2013, and Sara Navarro (class of 2014), both Chi Omegas at Millsaps, were named recipients of the Angie Manguno Memorial Scholarship.

Andrew Marion, B.A. 2013, former chapter president of the Theta Eta chapter of Lambda Chi Alpha, was selected to serve on Lambda Chi Alpha's national Student Advisory Committee. Fourteen undergraduates representing 11,000 undergraduate brothers across North America compose the committee. Marion is the representative for chapters in Mississippi, Alabama and Georgia.

Austin Deskewies, B.S. 2013, who served as vice president of the Alpha Iota chapter of Pi Kappa Alpha and was co-chair of the Inter-Fraternal Council's Greek Life Conduct Board, was the Order of Omega's top national scholarship recipient.

The Mississippi Delta chapter of Sigma Alpha Epsilon was honored with the Province Theta Award for most improved chapter.

The Alpha Mu chapter of Kappa Alpha order received the 2011 Ammen Award, given to the top 15 percent of KA chapters, and its Casino Night was named one of the Top 5 National Philanthropy Events. October 3, 2013 will mark the 120th anniversary of the Alpha Mu chapter.

Service-social sororities and fraternities play a vital role in developing young leaders, said Dr. Brit Katz, vice president for student life and dean of students at Millsaps.

"Millsaps College is grateful that our sororities and fraternities assign great obligation to attain award-winning standards while playing this role," he said. "It is not surprising that so many of the organizations earn most-coveted accolades from their national offices."